Home Page

 
 

Classes

Dates  Times and Tunes

Tuesday 9.30am Class 
Tuesday 7pm Irish Class
Wednesday 7pm Class 
Thursday 9.30am Slow and Steady Class
Thursday 11am Irish Class
Thursday 7.00 pm Beginners Class
 
Free Sessions

Dates  Times and Tune Lists 

Calendar Dates for Morning Assembly Session  Tues and Thurs 9.00am -9.30am  
 Tunes For Morning Assembly Session Tues and Thurs 9.00am -9.30am 
 Tunes For Tuesday Morning Session 10.45am- 11.45am
  Tunes For Slow and Steady Session Wednesday 8.15pm 
Tunes For  Irish Session Tuesday 8.15pm
 
A-Z  Tunes  Substantial Resource of Recordings and Visual Aids
 
Complete Beginners
Complete Beginners Help
What to expect in the beginners group
Beginners first tunes
 
 
Contents in this section are pre zoom  November 2020
General Info "old norm" periods 
  Timetable Summary  
 
 
Contents in this section are pre zoom  November 2020

Dance Classes 

Folk Feet Tuesday
Morning
Thursday Morning Dance Class

Monday evening Irish Set Dance classes and dances

 
 
Contents in this section are pre zoom  November 2020
Group Lessons
One to one lessons
Refs for lessons
 
Contents in this section are pre zoom  November 2020
Fees
 
Contents in this section are pre zoom  November 2020

Music Classes Archive 

Monday Morning Group  

Monday Evening Falfield  Archive

Tuesday  Irish Group archive

Wednesday Evening Groups Archive

  Monday Evening Star Inn Archive

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Morning Assembly Calendar Dates 2021 - Tuesdays and Thursdays 9.00 am - 9.30am 
Contact Jill:   jillyelliot@gmail.com 07515 904 707
The morning assembly is a free session - watch or join in. 

Just click on the zoom link below.  Zoom may ask you to enter the passcode.  We look forward to seeing you soon!

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88960263597?pwd=QnM5U2ZiU0tnVkhNNXBkTDczSDBUdz09

Passcode: 545084

To access the A-Z Tunes Resource with all links to recordings and music, click here, then enter your password and username 

click here for 2 x hour long play lists for Highly Strung Community Band 2021

 

Morning Assembly Timetable September-October 2021
Thursday 2nd Sept Drops of Brandy Set Monks March Set  Dan MacDonald Set The Kesh
Tuesday 7th Sept An Comhra Don Set Le Tourment Set Shoe the Donkey Major Mackie's Set
Thursday 9th Sept McHugh's Set Morgan Rattler Set King of the Fairies Louisburg Square Set
Tuesday 14th Sept Aunty Mary's Set Dashing White Sergeant Set Ned O'Connor Set Michael Turner's
Thursday 16th Sept Ballydesmond Polka Set Wakefield Hunt G Kelso Set 2 ea Sweet Jenny Jones
Tuesday 21st Sept Jig of Slurs Set Woodland Flowers Set Tich's Reel Set 2/2/1 Bear Dance Em
Thursday 23rd Sept Banish Misfortune Set Alexandrine March Set Miss Margaret Hill's Waltz All in a Garden Green G
Tuesday 28th Sept Blackthorn Stick Set Galop Hey Set Newcastle Astley's Ride Set
Thursday 30th Sept Jack's Maggot Glos H'pipe Set 3ea Leaving Lismore Rig a Jig Set
Tuesday 5th Oct Smuggler's Three Sea Captains Set Galopede Set A Starry Night SEt
Thursday 7th Oct Flat Water Fran Out on the Ocean Set Old Morpeth Rant Set Maggie in the Woods
Tuesday 12th Oct Pride of Petravore Set Hogmanay Jig Set Stow Quickstep Set  
Thursday 14th Oct Drops of Brandy Set Monks March Set  Dan MacDonald Set The Kesh
Tuesday 19th Oct An Comhra Don Set Le Tourment Set Shoe the Donkey Major Mackie's Set
Thursday 21st Oct McHugh's Set Morgan Rattler Set King of the Fairies Louisburg Square Set
Tuesday 26th Oct Aunty Mary's Set Dashing White Sergeant Set Ned O'Connor Set Michael Turner's
Thursday 28th Oct Ballydesmond Polka Set Wakefield Hunt G Kelso Set 2 ea Sweet Jenny Jones

 

Morning Assembly Timetable - June/July/August 2021
Thursday 17th June A Starry Night Set D Galopede Set G All in a Garden Green G  The Kesh Jig G
Tuesday 22nd June Aunty Mary's Set Astley's Ride Set An Comhra Don Set  
Thursday 24th June Banish Misfortune Set Dashing White Sergeant Set Smuggler's G/DG Dan MacDonald Set
Tuesday 29th June Hogmanay Jig Set Monks March Set   Louisburg Square Set Maggie in the Woods
Thursday 1st July Jig of Slurs Set Galop Hey Set Sweet Jenny Jones Blackthorn Stick Set
Tuesday 6th July Major Mackie's Set Alexandrine March Set Newcastle G Miss Margaret Hill's Waltz
Thursday 8th July McHugh's Set Old Morpeth Rant Set 2 ea King of the Fairies em  Jack's Maggot D
Tuesday 13th July Morgan Rattler Set Kelso Set 2 ea Michael Turners Waltz G  
Thursday 15th July Glos H'pipe Set 3ea Rig-a-Jig Set Ballydesmond Polka Set Butterfly Em
Tuesday 20th July Pride of Petravore Set Woodland Flowers Set Shoe the Donkey G Wakefield Hunt G
Thursday 22nd July Three Sea Captains Set Tich's Reel Set 2/2/1 Flat Water Fran G  
Tuesday 27th July Drops of Brandy Set Le Tourment set Ned O'Connor Set  
Thursday 29th July Out on the Ocean Set Bear Dance Em Leaving Lismore G Stow Quickstep Set
Sidmouth Folk Festival - Play 11.30am-12.30pm and 2.00pm-3.00pm.  Click here for play lists
Tuesday 3rd August Aunty Mary's Set Dashing White Sergeant Set Ned O'Connor Set Michael Turner's
Thursday 5th August Ballydesmond Polka Set Wakefield Hunt G Kelso Set 2 ea Sweet Jenny Jones
Tuesday 10th August Jig of Slurs Set Woodland Flowers Set Tich's Reel Set 2/2/1 Bear Dance Em
Thursday 12th August Banish Misfortune Set Alexandrine March Set Miss Margaret Hill's Waltz All in a Garden Green G
Tuesday 17th August Blackthorn Stick Set Galop Hey Set Newcastle Astley's Ride Set
Thursday 19th August Jack's Maggot Glos H'pipe Set 3ea Leaving Lismore Rig a Jig Set
Tuesday 24th August Smuggler's Three Sea Captains Set Galopede Set A Starry Night SEt
Thursday 26th August Flatwater Fran Out on the Ocean Set Old Morpeth Rant Set Maggie in the Woods
Tuesday 31st August Pride of Petravore Set Hogmanay Jig Set Stow Quickstep Set  

 

Morning Assembly Timetable May and June 2021
Captain Tom's 100 challenge fundraiser for NHS Bristol - our challenge is to play 100 different tunes in our morning assemblies in May and June - invite others to join in the fun by using the zoom link above to join in this free session. ... and please give a donation

Link to the Highly Strung Community Band Just Giving Page:

Highly Strung Community Band is fundraising for Southmead Hospital Charity (justgiving.com)

Date Name of set/tune no. of tunes cum total
Tues 4th May A Starry Night Set Kelso Set Galopede Set   8
Thursday 6th May Tich's Reel Set All In a Garden Green Aunty Mary's Barndance Set   15
Tues 11th May Galop Hey Set Morgan Rattler Set Three Sea Captains  Set Jack's Maggot 8 23
Thursday 13th May Mc Hugh's Set Hogmanay Jig Set Woodland Flowers Wakefield Hunt 10 33
Tues 18th May Dan MacDonald Set Drops of Brandy Set Gloucestershire H'pipe Set Michael Turner's Waltz 8 41
Thursday 20th May Shoe the Donkey Astley's Ride Set Louisburg Square Set Dashing White Sergeant Set 9 50
Tues 25th May Old Morpeth Rant Set Ballydesmond Polkas  Alexandrine March Set The Kesh 9 59
Thursday 27th May Pride of Petravore Set Smuggler's Wedding Monk's March Set Blackthorn Stick Set 9 68
Tuesday 1st June An Comhra Don Set Miss M Hill's Waltz Bear Dance Banish Misfortune Set 7 75
Thursday 3rd June Flat Water Fran Sweet Jenny Jones The Butterfly Jig of Slurs Set - 3 of each!!! 5 80
Tuesday 8th June Major Mackie's Set Leaving Lismore Newcastle Le Tourment Set 7 87
Thursday 10th June Ned O'Connor Set Maggie in the Woods Rig a Jig Set King of the Fairies 8 95
Tuesday 15th June Out on the Ocean Set High Caul Cap Set 5 100!
Please vote for your two favourite tune sets so we can include them in the assembly on 15th June as laps of honour!  Send votes via email to Jill 

OK - the votes are in! .......and the chosen tunes are....... Ned O'Connor Set of Irish Polkas and All in a Garden Green first published by John Playford in 1651.

 We did it !! Many thanks to everyone.  We smashed our 500 target with donations to Southmead Hospital Charity of 580!!

 

Morning Assembly Timetable January-April 2021

Date

Speed Tunes from past playlists More recently added tune sets from 2019 and 2020
Tues 5th January performance A Starry Night D, Oyster Girl G, Perfect Cure D 
Thursday 7th January slow Woodland Flowers G, Uncle's Jig G Le Tourment G, Maison de Glace D, Early in the Year G
Tues 12th January performance Woodland Flowers G, Uncle's Jig G Le Tourment G, Maison de Glace D, Early in the Year G
Thursday 14th January slow Galopede G, Petronella D McHugh's G, House in the Glen D, (The) Legacy G
Tues 19th January performance Galopede G, Petronella D McHugh's G, House in the Glen D, (The) Legacy G
Thursday 21st January slow Out on the Ocean G, Plane Tree Em, Rose in the Heather D Kelso Accordion and Fiddle Club G, Auld Brig O'Kelso A, Crown Point Cottage D
Tues 26th January performance Out on the Ocean G, Plane Tree Em, Rose in the Heather D Kelso Accordion and Fiddle Club G, Auld Brig O'Kelso A, Crown Point Cottage D
Thursday 28th January slow Hogmanay Jig G, Gobbie O Am, Stool of Repentance D, Biddy the Bowl Wife G All in a Garden Green with Harmony G
Tues 2nd February performance Hogmanay Jig G, Gobbie O Am, Stool of Repentance D, Biddy the Bowl Wife G All in a Garden Green with Harmony G
Thursday 4th February slow Morgan Rattle D, Paddy Carey's G Tich's Reel G, Pearl Wedding D, Nancy Taylor's Reel G
Tues 9th February performance Morgan Rattle D, Paddy Carey's G Tich's Reel G, Pearl Wedding D, Nancy Taylor's Reel G
Thursday 11th February slow Three Sea Captains G, Lady Lady Mary Douglas D, News of the Victory G Ned O'Connor Em, Prowling Fox D, Captain Bing G
Tues 16th February performance Three Sea Captains G, Lady Lady Mary Douglas D, News of the Victory G Ned O'Connor Em, Prowling Fox D, Captain Bing G
Thursday 18th February slow Galop Hey D/D/G, Redowa Polka G An Comhra Don D, Green Castle G, Joe Bane's Schottische A
Tues 23rd February performance Galop Hey D/D/G, Redowa Polka G An Comhra Don D, Green Castle G, Joe Bane's Schottische A
Thursday 25th February slow Old Morpeth Rant G, Morpeth Rant D, Hesleyside Reel A Le Tourment G, Maison de Glace D, Early in the Year G
Tues 2nd March performance Old Morpeth Rant G, Morpeth Rant D, Hesleyside Reel A Hogmanay Jig G, Gobbie O Am, Stool of Repentance D, Biddy the Bowl Wife G
Thursday 4th March slow Jig of Slurs D/D/G, Athole Highlanders A Pride of Petravore Em, Far From Home G, Minstrel's Fancy D
Tues 9th March performance Jig of Slurs D/D/G, Athole Highlanders A Pride of Petravore Em, Far From Home G, Minstrel's Fancy D
Thursday 11th March perform slow A Starry Night D, Oyster Girl G, Perfect Cure D Aunty Mary's Canadian Barndance D, Cotillion Des Dames G/D, Danse de Chez Nous G
Tuesday 16th March performance Stow Quickstep D, High Caul Cap D Aunty Mary's Canadian Barndance D, Cotillion Des Dames G/D, Danse de Chez Nous G
Thursday 18th March Bob Liddle with us for ... Kelso Accordion and Fiddle Club G, Auld Brig O'Kelso A, Crown Point Cottage D
Tues 23rd March Galopede G, Petronella D McHugh's Set Out on the Ocean Set
Thursday 25th March Woodland Flowers G, Uncle's Jig G Le Tourment Set Aunty Mary's Canadian Barndance Set
Tues 30th March Hogmanay Jig Set All in a Garden Green with Harmony G Woodland Flowers G, Uncle's Jig G
Thursday 1st April Morgan Rattle D, Paddy Carey's G Tich's Reel Set  
Tues 6th April Three Sea Captains Set Ned O'Connor Set Galop Hey D, Redowa Polka G
Thursday 8th April Galop Hey D/D/G, Redowa Polka G An Comhra Don Set Galopede G. Petronella D
Tues 13th April Old Morpeth Rant Set Out on the Ocean Set All in a Garden Green with Harmony G
Thursday 15th April Jig of Slurs D/D/G Set Pride of Petravore Set  
Tues 20th April Woodland Flowers G, Uncle's Jig G Aunty Mary's Canadian Barndance Set Pride of Petravore Set
Thursday 22nd April Hogmanay Jig Set Tich's Reel Set  
Tuesday 27th April Three Sea Captains Set Ned O'Connor Set Old Morpeth Rant Set
Thursday 29th April Jig of Slurs Set An Comhra Don Set Le Tourment Set
Sunday 2nd May Highly Strung Start the Summer Session 2pm-4pm via zoom from Yew Tree Cottage.  The rule of 6 outdoors will hopefully be in operation, so you could arrange to meet together with local friends in a socially distanced outdoor setting with internet access.  Wet weather provision - just stay in and meet everyone else in their own homes!
A selection of these tunes will be used as tune sets for Highly Strung Community Band Events in 2021
 

 

Highly Strung Community Band Play lists 2021

1 hour play list (Green) 1 hour play list (Blue)
A Starry Night Set A Starry Night Set
Galopede Set Monks March Set
Aunty Mary's Canadian Set Rig a Jig Set
Dan MacDonald Set Ned O'Connor Set
McHugh's Set Blackthorn Stick Set
All in a Garden Green G Jack's Maggot
Drops of Brandy Set Jig of Slurs Set
Leaving Lismore Sweet Jenny Jones
Gloucestershire H'pipe Set Pride of Petravore Set
Le Tourment Set Woodland Flowers Set
Bear Dance Wakefield Hunt
Smuggler's G/DG Michael Turner's Waltz
Stow Quickstep Set Stow Quickstep Set