Home Page

 
 

Classes

Dates  Times and Tunes

Tuesday 9.30am Class 
Tuesday 7pm Irish Class
Wednesday 7pm Class 
Thursday 9.30am Slow and Steady Class
Thursday 11am Irish Class
Thursday 7.00 pm Beginners Class
 
Free Sessions

Dates  Times and Tune Lists 

Calendar Dates for Morning Assembly Session  Tues and Thurs 9.00am -9.30am  
 Tunes For Morning Assembly Session Tues and Thurs 9.00am -9.30am 
 Tunes For Tuesday Morning Session 10.45am- 11.45am
  Tunes For Slow and Steady Session Wednesday 8.15pm 
Tunes For  Irish Session Tuesday 8.15pm
 
A-Z  Tunes  Substantial Resource of Recordings and Visual Aids
 
Complete Beginners
Complete Beginners Help
What to expect in the beginners group
Beginners first tunes
 
 
Contents in this section are pre zoom  November 2020
General Info "old norm" periods 
  Timetable Summary  
 
 
Contents in this section are pre zoom  November 2020

Dance Classes 

Folk Feet Tuesday
Morning
Thursday Morning Dance Class

Monday evening Irish Set Dance classes and dances

 
 
Contents in this section are pre zoom  November 2020
Group Lessons
One to one lessons
Refs for lessons
 
Contents in this section are pre zoom  November 2020
Fees
 
Contents in this section are pre zoom  November 2020

Music Classes Archive 

Monday Morning Group  

Monday Evening Falfield  Archive

Tuesday  Irish Group archive

Wednesday Evening Groups Archive

  Monday Evening Star Inn Archive

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Tuesday Morning Zoom and In Person Class from 9.30am and Session from 10.45am

Zoom Link Below (you will be able to join 10 minutes before the class starts)

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88960263597?pwd=QnM5U2ZiU0tnVkhNNXBkTDczSDBUdz09

Passcode: 545084

Contact Jill Elliot jillyelliot@gmail.com 07515 904 707
To access the A-Z Tunes Resource with all links to recordings and music, click here, then enter your password and username 

 

Autumn Term 2021 - Tuesday 9.30am - September-December

Date

Tunes

Tuesday 7th September New Tune: Bonfire Tune, revise House in the Glen
Tuesday 14th September New Tune: Little Drop of Coffee, revise Legacy
Tuesday 21st September Mason's Apron
Tuesday 28th September Fairy Dance, Miss McLeod (Scottish)
Tuesday 5th October Soldier's Joy, Kate Dalrymple
Tuesday 12th October Devil Among the Tailors
Tuesday 19th October East Neuk of Fife
Tuesday 26th October Staten Island
Tuesday 2nd November  
Tuesday 9th November  
Tuesday 16th November  
Tuesday 23rd November  
Tuesday 30th November  
Tuesday 7th December  
Tuesday 14th December  
Tuesday 21st December  

 

Summer Term 2021 - Tuesday 9.30am - May - August

Date

Tunes

Sunday 2nd May Highly Strung Start the Summer Party 2pm-4pm via zoom from Yew Tree Cottage.  
Tuesday 4th May Far From Home, Minstrel's Fancy - understanding the rhythm and lift for this type of tune  
Tuesday 11th May Drops of Brandy - slip jig
Tuesday 18th May Foxhunters - slip jig
Tuesday 25th May Flat Water Fran - we will learn it first in the key G.  Once you know the tune should be easy to play in A.  It will be played at the morning assembly on Thursday 3rd June.  There is a recording is on the A-Z Tunes - play twice in G and once in A.
Tuesday 1st June A Fig for a Kiss - slip jig - play the set of tunes and make sure we know Flat Water Fran in G and A
Tuesday 8th June New Tunes Calliope House,  Blackthorn Stick - revise slip jig set and Flatwater Fran in G and A
Tuesday 15th June Revise Blackthorn Stick and Calliope House.  New tune Major Mackie's Jig and make a start on Ripple on the Teign 
Tuesday 22nd June Revise Major Mackie and Ripple on the Teign.  New Tune Leaving Lismore Harmony Part 1
Tuesday 29th June  Harmony Part 1 Leaving Lismore
Dual Zoom/Room Class and Session until further notice.  Please use "What'sApp Tuesday Morning" for booking a place in the room. 
Tuesday 6th July Revision session - max 6 if indoors 
Tuesday 13th July New Tunes - Railway, Louisburg Square
Tuesday 20th July New Tune - King of the Fairies.  Revise tunes learned on 13th July and 22nd June
Tuesday 27th July New Tune - Wakefield Hunt, played King of the Fairies, Louisburg Square, The Railway
Tuesday 3rd August Revision session - Green Castle, Cotillion des Dames, Three Sea Captains
Tuesday 10th August Revision session - Pearl Wedding, Louisburg Square, Blackthorn Stick
Tuesday 17th August Bear Dance harmonies.  Revise Galop Hey, Redowa Polka
Tuesday 24th August Sweet Jenny Jones  Revise House in the Glen, The Legacy
Tuesday 31st August Sweet Jenny Jones with Harmonies 

 

Spring Term 2021 - Tuesday 9.30am - January - April

Date

Tunes

Tuesday 5th January Crown Point Cottage 
Tuesday 12th January Revised Irish Jigs Set - Mc Hugh's, House in the Glen, (The) Legacy 
Tuesday 19th January Learned Petronella.  Revised Kelso Accordion and Fiddle, Auld Brig O'Kelso, Crown Point Cottage 
Tuesday 26th January Hogmanay Jig (it was Burns night yesterday!)
Tuesday 2nd February Tich's Reel
Tuesday 9th February Lady Mary Douglas,Three Sea Captains
Tuesday 16th February Redowa Polka
Tuesday 23rd February Learn/Revise one or two of the following tunes:  Old Morpeth Rant, Morpeth Rant, Hesleyside Reel - please let me know your choices
Tuesday 2nd March  Jig of Slurs and/or Athole Highlanders if we have time (in the session we will play Sweet Jenny Jones as it was St. David's Day yesterday)

10.45 session warm up tunes

Pride of Petravore, Far From Home, Minstrel's Fancy
Tuesday 9th March Learn/Revise one or two of the following tunes: Aunty Mary's Canadian Barndance, Cotillion Des Dames, Danse de Chez Nous - please let me know your choices
Tuesday 16th March Learn Woodland Flowers

10.45 session warm up tunes

Ned O'Connor set (St. Patrick's Day tomorrow)
Tuesday 23rd March Learn Uncle's Jig to go with Woodland Flowers
Tuesday 30th March Out on the Ocean
Tuesday 6th April new tune - Plane Tree, revise Danse de Chez Nous
Tuesday 13th April Rose in the Heather and revise Out on the Ocean and Plane Tree, concentrating on getting the jig rhythm.
Tuesday 20th April McHugh's set - working on increasing your speed so please make sure you know the tunes well !  We started at 80 bpm and finished at 108bpm
Tuesday 27th April Tich's Reel, Pride of Petravore set - playing more fluently

 

Autumn Term 2020 - Tuesday 9.30am - September - December

Date

Tunes

Tuesday 8th September All in a Garden Green and Harmony
Tuesday 15th September Learn at home this week's warm up tune Harvest Home.  In the class we learned Gentle Maiden  and the harmony 
Tuesday 22nd September New tune we will learn by ear High Reel - Irish reel - 
Tuesday 29th September New tune - Alisdair J Sim - (Willie Taylor)
Tuesday 6th October New Tune - this time from Somerset - Henry Cave's Hornpipe as passed on by John Dipper summer 2006 - for traditional English music search for Chris Wood, Andy Cutting, Rob Harbron.
Tuesday 13th October Julia Delaney - Irish Reel 
Tuesday 20th October 2nd half Julia Delaney.  New tune to learn by ear at the group Old Joe's Jig - Irish Jig
Tuesday 27th October Pride of Petravore (Eileen Og), An Comhra Don - two of the tunes to be played at the virtual ceili on Saturday 
Saturday 31st October  Join Maggie Daniel and the Perfect Cure Ceili Band for our Halloween Ceili - Click here for dances to be called with instructions and a list of tunes for musicians to join in too.
Tuesday 3rd November Ned O'Connor, Prowling Fox (Irish Polkas)
Tuesday 10th November New Tune Mc Hugh's (Irish Jig), House in the Glen (Irish Jig)
Tuesday 17th November Captain Bing (polka), Green Castle (hornpipe)
Tuesday 24th November Legacy (Irish jig)
Tuesday 1st December A new tune to follow Kelso Accordion and Fiddle Club - the Auld Brig O'Kelso which was introduced via video link by Bob Liddle who wrote these tunes.   Ding Dong Bell
Tuesday 8th December Joe Banes Schottische, Revise Green Castle, Play Ding Dong Bell
Tuesday 15th December Far From Home, play through tunes for Christmas Party
Tuesday 22nd December Minstrel's Fancy
Wednesday 23rd December Highly Strung and Folk Feet Christmas Party 1.45pm - dancing and playing starts at 2pm - 3pm chatting to finish around 3.15pm - email Jill jillyelliot@gmail.com for the programme