Home Page

 
 

Classes

Dates  Times and Tunes

Tuesday 9.30am Class 
Tuesday 7pm Irish Class
Wednesday 7pm Class 
Thursday 9.30am Slow and Steady Class
Thursday 11am Irish Class
Thursday 7.00 pm Beginners Class
 
Free Sessions

Dates  Times and Tune Lists 

Calendar Dates for Morning Assembly Session  Tues and Thurs 9.00am -9.30am  
 Tunes For Morning Assembly Session Tues and Thurs 9.00am -9.30am 
 Tunes For Tuesday Morning Session 10.45am- 11.45am
  Tunes For Slow and Steady Session Wednesday 8.15pm 
Tunes For  Irish Session Tuesday 8.15pm
 
A-Z  Tunes  Substantial Resource of Recordings and Visual Aids
 
Complete Beginners
Complete Beginners Help
Beginners first tunes
 
General Info "old norm" periods 
Pre March 2020 Timetable Summary
Highly Strung Event Timetable 2020
Dance Timetable and Events 
 
 

Dance Classes 

Folk Feet Tuesday
Morning
Thursday Morning Dance Class

Monday evening Irish Set Dance classes and dances

It's Your Ceili Friday Dance Party

 
 

Book a Barn Dance/ Ceili  Band

Refs caller and band

 
Group Lessons
One to one lessons
Refs for lessons
 
Fees
 

Music Classes Archive 

Monday Morning Group  

Monday Evening Falfield  Archive

Tuesday  Irish Group archive

Wednesday Evening Groups Archive

  Monday Evening Star Inn Archive

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Tuesday Evening Zoom and In Person Irish Class from 7pm and Session from 8.15pm

Zoom Link Below (you will be able to join 10 minutes before the class starts)

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88960263597?pwd=QnM5U2ZiU0tnVkhNNXBkTDczSDBUdz09

Passcode: 545084

Click here to go straight to the timetable
Contact Jill Elliot jillyelliot@gmail.com 07515 904 707
This class is suitable for all melody instruments.  We learn and play at a medium/faster medium pace -come along for a complimentary trial by clicking the zoom link above, to see if it suits you - there are other groups that may be more suitable.  Participants are muted when playing.  Questions are encouraged and participants look forward to meeting each other weekly.

Sessions are for playing tunes.  Everyone is muted except the leader, allowing melody players to play confidently without fear of putting another group member off track.  Guitarists, piano players and percussionists get the chance to experiment with different chords and styles.   This is a great opportunity to play Irish tunes with an experienced fiddle player and Irish Ceili band, The Perfect Cure.

7.00pm-8.00pm - learn a new tune/revise previous week's tune - all tunes are on the A-Z Tunes - Recordings and Visual Aids 

8.15pm-9.15pm - session of tunes with the band - click here for the tunes we are playing at the session

The fee for the whole evening is 10 - or if you just want to join for the session, it is 5 

Your 10 fee covers you for any other group or session for the whole week.  Pay as you go and only for weeks attended.

New from June 2021 - dual zoom and in person format - zoom in as usual, or book onto the in person group - Covid safe guidelines are followed - email jillyelliot@gmail.com for the procedures and health and safety rules for in person attendance in Clapton in Gordano in North Somerset

Dual zoom/in person group - 10 per person - This will be held outside weather permitting - otherwise numbers indoors will be limited to 6 people.  7pm-8pm revision/learning tunes at a steady pace - group members should primarily choose tunes from the session list to learn/revise.  The tunes for the Irish session are found via the link in the contents strip on the left "Tunes For Irish Session Tuesday 8.15pm"

Session 8.15pm "round the table session" each person to choose a tune/tune set to play primarily from the list of Irish tunes we have for the Irish session.  All participants will be muted and you will play along with the band recording.  The session is free on zoom.  The tunes for the session are found via the link in the contents strip on the left "Tunes For Irish Session Tuesday 8.15pm"

 

For tunes we have covered during terms from September 2020, scroll down this page.

For tunes covered prior to September 2020, see links in contents: far left column on dark background under the heading Music Classes Archive which is towards the bottom of the contents column.

To access the A-Z Tunes Resource with all links to recordings and music, click here, then enter your password and username 

 

Summer Term 2021 - May - August

Date

Tunes

Sunday 2nd May Highly Strung Start the Summer Party 2pm-4pm via zoom from Yew Tree Cottage.  
Tuesday 4th May Murroe Polka, Revise Cascade Polka, Ballinahulla Polka
Tuesday 11th May Spillane's, As I looked East and West (Polkas)
Tuesday 18th May Master McDermott, Maids of Mount Cisco
Tuesday 25th May Humours of Ennistymon - 48 bar jig to go with Banish Misfortune.  Play tunes covered in the past 3 weeks.
Tuesday 1st June Revision of tunes learned in the spring and summer terms.  Please choose a couple of tunes you wish to revise.
Dual zoom/in person group starts from 8th June.  See above for details or click here.
Tuesday 8th June Master McDermott, The Kesh, The Banshee, Kid on the Mountain, Trip to Cullenstown
Tuesday 15th June Revision of Blarney Pilgrim, Humours of Ennistymon, Kid on the Mountain
Tuesday 22nd June Session - 7pm very steady, 8.00pm - not too fast!
Tuesday 29th June  2 hour session of tunes 
Tuesday 6th July Revision of Spillane's, As I looked East and West, Bucks of Oranmore, Kid on the Mountain followed by session
Tuesday 13th July Cronin's Hornpipe, My Love in in America, Humours of Ballyconnell
Tuesday 20th July Maids of Mount Kisco, Bucks of Oranmore, Humours of Ballyconnell, Master McDermott
Tuesday 27th July Blarney Pilgrim, Pipe on the Hob, Maids of Mount Kisco
Tuesday 3rd August  
Tuesday 10th August  
Tuesday 17th August  
Tuesday 24th August  
Tuesday 31st August  

 

Spring Term 2021 - January - April

Date

Tunes

Tuesday 5th January Raheen Reel, Boogie Reel
Tuesday 12th January Trip to Cullenstown (reel), Lehane's (polka)
Tuesday 19th January (The) Raheen
Tuesday 26th January Controversial Reel
Tuesday 2nd February Master McDermott's
Tuesday 9th February Galtee Rangers, Speed the Plough
Tuesday 16th February John Brennan's, Swinging on a Gate
Tuesday 23rd February Maids of Mount Cisco
Tuesday 2nd March Bucks of Oranmore
Tuesday 9th March Wind that Shakes the Barley, Old Copperplate, Merry Blacksmith
Tuesday 16th March Musical Priest
Tuesday 23rd March Humours of Tulla, Red Haired Lass
Tuesday 30th March Roaring Mary
Tuesday 6th April Revise Humours of Tulla Set
Tuesday 13th April Cascade Polka, Ballinahulla Polka 
Tuesday 20th April Rights of Man, Little Diamond (polka)
Tuesday 27th April Tom Bhetty's Waltz

 

Autumn Term 2020 - Zoom - November - December

Date

Tunes

Tuesday 10th November Keefe's Slide/Sail Around the Rocks/Where is the Cat?
Tuesday 17th November John Brennan's - reel
Tuesday 24th November John Brennan's revision with bowing 
Tuesday 1st December Prowling Fox, Captain Bing - Irish Polkas
Tuesday 8th December Ned O'Connor, Revise two polkas from 1st Dec, play John Brennan's
Tuesday 15th December Pride of Petravore, Far from Home
Tuesday 22nd December Minstrel's Fancy
Wednesday 23rd December Highly Strung and Folk Feet Christmas Party 1.45pm - dancing and playing starts at 2pm - 3pm chatting to finish around 3.15pm - email Jill jillyelliot@gmail.com for the programme