Home
Tuesday 9.30am Class 
Tuesday 7pm Irish Class
Wednesday 7pm Class 
Thursday 9.30am Slow and Steady
Thursday 11am Irish Class
Thursday 7pm Brand  New Players!
 
Complete Beginners Help
Beginners first tunes
 
Tunes
A-Z 
index
Tunes for classes and sessions 2021
Morning assembly 2021
 
General Info "old norm" periods 
 pre March 2020 Timetable
Summary
Highly Strung Event Timetable 2020
Dance Timetable and Events 
 
 

DANCE CLASSES

Folk Feet Tuesday
Morning
Thursday Morning Dance Class

Monday evening Irish Set Dance classes and dances

It's Your Ceili Friday Dance Party

 
 

Book a Barn Dance/ Ceili  Band

Refs caller and band

 
Group Lessons
One to one lessons
Refs for lessons
 

Highly Strung Playlists 

  Sets of Tunes

 

MUSIC CLASSES Archive 

Monday Morning Group  

Monday Evening Falfield  Archive

Tuesday  Irish Group archive

Wednesday evening groups Archive

Old Monday evening groups Star Inn Archive

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Health and Safety Sept 2020 Halls
 
 
How to get to Yew Tree Cottage

Photo Gallery

Fees

Links

 
Wednesday Evening Zoom Class from 7pm
This classes is suitable for all melody instruments. We learn and play at a medium slow/medium pace.  All participants are muted except for questions.

Sessions are particularly useful.  Everyone is muted except the leader, giving accompanists a chance to experiment and allowing melody players to play confidently without fear of putting another group member off track.  Or just a chance to play the Highly Strung repertoire along with an experienced fiddle player.

We are currently operating via Zoom

Please e mail Jill jillyelliot@gmail.com for the link - it is the same each week for any class or session - please arrive 5-10 minutes early

7.00pm-8.00pm - learn a new tune/revise previous week's tune

8.15pm-9.15pm - session of tunes we have been learning with Jill will leading.

The fee for the whole evening is 10 - or if you just want to join for the session, it is 5

Your 10 fee covers you for any other group or session for the whole week.

 

In the session choose a tune from the Highly Strung Band favourites and new tunes we are learning.  Play along with Jill and take the opportunity to add your own harmony parts or variation without feeling the constraints of playing live in a group.

We are currently operating via Zoom 

 

Spring Term 2021 - Zoom - January - April

Date

Tunes

Wednesday 6th January Far From Home
Wednesday 13th January Minstrel's Fancy
Wednesday 20th January Joe Bane's Schottische
Wednesday 27th January An Comhra Don
Wednesday 3rd February Green Castle
Wednesday 10th February Ned O'Connor
Wednesday 17th February Prowling Fox
Wednesday 24th February Captain Bing
Wednesday 3rd March Legacy
Wednesday 10th March Mc Hugh's
Wednesday 17th March House in the Glen
Wednesday 24th March Crown Point Cottage
Wednesday 31st March  
Wednesday 7th April  
Wednesday 14th April  
Wednesday 21st April  
Wednesday 28th April  

 

 

Autumn Term 2020 - Zoom - November - December

Date

Tunes

Wednesday 11th November Shoe the Donkey
Wednesday 18th November Pride of Petravore
Wednesday 25th November Dan MacDonald's Polka
Wednesday 2nd December Green Cottage 
Wednesday 9th December Ding Dong Bell   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nb4Ro9q_MvY
Wednesday 16th December Nonesuch, Geud Man of Ballingigh
Wednesday 23rd December Highly Strung and Folk Feet Christmas Party 1.45pm - dancing and playing starts at 2pm - 3pm chatting to finish around 3.15pm - email Jill jillyelliot@gmail.com for the programme