Home Page

 
 

Classes

Dates  Times and Tunes

Tuesday 9.30am Class 
Tuesday 7pm Irish Class
Wednesday 7pm Class 
Thursday 9.30am Slow and Steady Class
Thursday 11am Irish Class
Thursday 7.00 pm Beginners Class
 
Free Sessions

Dates  Times and Tune Lists 

Calendar Dates for Morning Assembly Session  Tues and Thurs 9.00am -9.30am  
 Tunes For Morning Assembly Session Tues and Thurs 9.00am -9.30am 
 Tunes For Tuesday Morning Session 10.45am- 11.45am
  Tunes For Slow and Steady Session Wednesday 8.15pm 
Tunes For  Irish Session Tuesday 8.15pm
 
A-Z  Tunes  Substantial Resource of Recordings and Visual Aids
 
Complete Beginners
Complete Beginners Help
Beginners first tunes
 
General Info "old norm" periods 
Pre March 2020 Timetable Summary
Highly Strung Event Timetable 2020
Dance Timetable and Events 
 
 

Dance Classes 

Folk Feet Tuesday
Morning
Thursday Morning Dance Class

Monday evening Irish Set Dance classes and dances

It's Your Ceili Friday Dance Party

 
 

Book a Barn Dance/ Ceili  Band

Refs caller and band

 
Group Lessons
One to one lessons
Refs for lessons
 
Fees
 

Music Classes Archive 

Monday Morning Group  

Monday Evening Falfield  Archive

Tuesday  Irish Group archive

Wednesday Evening Groups Archive

  Monday Evening Star Inn Archive

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Wednesday Evening Zoom and in Person Class 7pm and Slow and Steady Session 8.15pm

Zoom Link Below (you will be able to join 10 minutes before the class starts)

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88960263597?pwd=QnM5U2ZiU0tnVkhNNXBkTDczSDBUdz09

Passcode: 545084

Click here to go straight to the timetable
Contact Jill Elliot jillyelliot@gmail.com 07515 904 707
The class is suitable for all melody instruments - learn tunes and technique by ear.   The pace is a slow/medium pace - come along for a complimentary trial by clicking the zoom link above, to see if it suits you - there are other groups that may be more suitable.  Participants are muted when playing.  Questions are encouraged and participants look forward to meeting each other weekly.

Sessions are for playing tunes.  Everyone is muted except the leader, giving accompanists a chance to experiment and allowing melody players to play confidently without fear of putting another group member off track.  This is a great opportunity to play tunes with an experienced fiddle player and ceili band.

7.00pm-8.00pm - learn a new tune/revise previous week's tune -all tunes are on the A-Z Tunes - Recordings and Visual Aids 

8.15pm-9.15pm - session of tunes we have been learning - play along with Jill and the band.  You can access the list of tunes we play by going to the left column, scroll down to "Dates, times and tunes for Sessions" and underneath that, click the link for Slow and Steady Session.

The fee for the whole evening is 10 - or if you just want to join for the session, it is 5

Your 10 fee covers you for any other group or session for the whole week.  Pay as you go and only for weeks attended.

New from June 2021 - dual zoom and in person format - zoom in as usual, or book onto the in person group - Covid safe guidelines are followed - email jillyelliot@gmail.com for the procedures and health and safety rules for in person attendance in Clapton in Gordano in North Somerset

 
For tunes we have covered during terms from September 2020, scroll down this page.

For tunes covered prior to September 2020, see links in contents strip, far left column on dark background under the heading Music Classes Archive.

To access the A-Z Tunes Resource with all links to recordings and music, click here, then enter your password and username 

 

Summer Term 2021 - May-August

Date

Tunes

Sunday 2nd May Highly Strung Start the Summer Party 2pm-4pm via zoom from Yew Tree Cottage.  
Wednesday 5th May Green Castle
Wednesday 12th May Joe Bane's Schottische
Wednesday 19th May Revise Paddy Carey's and Morgan Rattler
Wednesday 26th May Learn Sweet Jenny Jones.  Play Morgan Rattler Set and Mc Hugh's set as these are not currently in the slow and steady session later this evening. 
Wednesday 2nd June Revision of spring and summer term tunes.  Please have a couple of tunes to suggest the group revises.  Several group members have been away recently and may not be up to date with the tunes we have been learning so this is an opportunity to catch up.
Wednesday 9th June An Comhra Don set revision 
Wednesday 16th June Revision of McHugh's Set.  Revision 1st half of Joe Bane's Schottische
Wednesday 23rd June Revise Pride of Petravore Set concentrating mainly on Far From Home and Minstrel's Fancy
Wednesday 30th June Crown Point Cottage revision
Wednesday 7th July Out on the Ocean, Plane Tree
Wednesday 14th July Rose in the Heather
Wednesday 21st July Revise Out on the Ocean and Rose in the Heather and work on jig rhythm
Wednesday 28th July Alexandrine March
Wednesday 4th August Rogues March
Wednesday 11th August Captain Lanoe's Quick March
Wednesday 18th August  
Wednesday 25th August  

 

 

Spring Term 2021 - Zoom - January - April

Date

Tunes

Wednesday 6th January Far From Home
Wednesday 13th January Minstrel's Fancy
Wednesday 20th January Joe Bane's Schottische
Wednesday 27th January An Comhra Don
Wednesday 3rd February Green Castle
Wednesday 10th February Ned O'Connor
Wednesday 17th February Prowling Fox
Wednesday 24th February Captain Bing
Wednesday 3rd March Legacy
Wednesday 10th March Mc Hugh's
Wednesday 17th March House in the Glen
Wednesday 24th March Crown Point Cottage
Wednesday 31st March Kelso Accordion and Fiddle Club
Wednesday 7th April Auld Brig O' Kelso
Wednesday 14th April Revise McHugh's set.  New tune - Morgan Rattler
Wednesday 21st April New Tune -Paddy Carey 
Wednesday 28th April Revise An Comhra Don

 
Upcoming Terms:
Summer Term 2021 - May - August
Autumn Term 2021 - September - December
 
Previous Terms - scroll down this page and for archive of previous years see links in contents strip, far left column on dark background.

 

Autumn Term 2020 - Zoom - November - December

Date

Tunes

Wednesday 11th November Shoe the Donkey
Wednesday 18th November Pride of Petravore
Wednesday 25th November Dan MacDonald's Polka
Wednesday 2nd December Green Cottage 
Wednesday 9th December Ding Dong Bell   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nb4Ro9q_MvY
Wednesday 16th December Nonesuch, Geud Man of Ballingigh
Wednesday 23rd December Highly Strung and Folk Feet Christmas Party 1.45pm - dancing and playing starts at 2pm - 3pm chatting to finish around 3.15pm - email Jill jillyelliot@gmail.com for the programme